theharmoniousgarden

winter gardens at the people’s palace

3 Comments

With families abroad and friends out of town, my partner and I decided to take a roadtrip around Scotland over Christmas. Like the rest of the UK, it poured (almost) the entire time. It didn’t matter, because the country is so beautiful you don’t even notice the rain. As long as you’re wrapped in plastic and have your wellies on.

We started our vacation in Glasgow, and some friendly locals suggested we head to the People’s Palace, a museum of social history for the city. While I enjoyed the museum, what I (and the Glaswegians, I suspect) love most are the attached winter gardens.

SAM_0014

SAM_0017

SAM_0031

SAM_0022

SAM_0028

To be fair, it was unashamedly indulgent with all manner of tropical and subtropical plants jammed in together (they even had cunjevoi – an Australian native I haven’t seen since my childhood!). But hey, we’re talking about the people’s palace, so why should it be restrained?! And with its giant Christmas tree, mass plantings of poinsettia, and Magic FM piped through the overhead speakers, it was the perfect start to our Scottish Christmas adventure.

Author: j3dley

I'm an amateur gardener and enjoy admiring the gardening efforts of others. I'm constantly on the lookout for inspiration and love sharing my discoveries!

3 thoughts on “winter gardens at the people’s palace

  1. Plus, the winter gardens were INSIDE, out of the rain! I can’t believe they can get all that tropical stuff to grow in Scotland! Love those bromeliads.

  2. That Copenhagen Botanical Garden was HUGE. Most of the botanical gardens I have seen in the States are strictly outdoors.

Leave a Reply

