theharmoniousgarden

london’s little secret

2 Comments

Just a few days of clear blue skies, and the Winter funk I’ve been wallowing in has completely evaporated. Spring is officially on the way, and London is tingling with excitement for the summer ahead. And with an honoured guest in town, the only way to celebrate was to explore one of London’s best kept secrets, The Roof Gardens. High above the hustle and bustle of up-market Kensington High Street, it’s an exotic garden sanctuary, complete with 4 resident flamingos. Primarily used to host private functions, the complex (which also includes a restaurant) is almost entirely unknown to tourists, despite free entry to the gardens.

The English Woodland
The English Woodland
A meadow
A meadow
a stand of potted mini narcissus
A stand of potted mini-narcissus
A view over the city
A view over the city
Crocus
Crocus
Flamingos! I wonder how they keep their colour? Algae anyone?!!
Flamingos! I wonder how they keep their colour? Algae anyone?!!

IMG_0860

Spanish Garden, based on the Alhambra

Spanish Garden, based on the Alhambra
The Spanish Garden
The Spanish Garden
The Alhambran 'harem'
Inside the Alhambran ‘harem’
Looking out into the garden
Looking out into the garden

I’m fairly neutral when it comes to Sir Richard Branson, the gentleman who owns the gardens, but it seems a refreshing altruistic gesture of him to keep them open to the residents of this fair city. So next time you’re in Kensington and get the urge to escape, go relax for a few minutes with the flamingos. Just don’t tell anyone about the gardens so they stay our ‘little secret’.

Author: j3dley

I'm an amateur gardener and enjoy admiring the gardening efforts of others. I'm constantly on the lookout for inspiration and love sharing my discoveries!

2 thoughts on “london’s little secret

  1. I visited the Kensington roof garden the last time I was in London (five years ago, now?). The flamingos and ducks were delightful, but mostly I marveled at how such a substantial garden (massive trees, ponds and water gardens, plenty of hardscaping, etc.) could be grown on a roof in the middle of the city, with so few people apparently aware of it. I don’t get to travel as often as I’d like, but the experience has encouraged me to seek out other unusual, hidden gardens when I do travel. Thanks for the tour!

    • My thoughts exactly – such a delight to find something that’s amazing, and not really over-run and spoilt!!! How did those large trees get up there?! Crane I wonder? Is the closest to an established NYC style rooftop garden isn’t it? Thanks for visiting the blog!

Leave a Reply

