theharmoniousgarden

overwhelmed in eden

6 Comments

A visit to Cornwall has been on my to-do list for the longest time. I’ve heard so much about its isolated wilderness, I wanted to see it for myself. And with a rental car and my trusty companion/navigator at my side, I set off over the Easter weekend to get a taste of the wild country.

First stop was a half day visit to the Eden Project. Although aware of the project due to its high profile within the UK as an innovative eco tourist destination, I hadn’t paid it much thought prior to our visit. And I was completely overwhelmed by the enormity of the place. It’s HUGE!!! The biomes are gigantic, and appear even larger once you’re inside. With outside temperatures hovering around 1-2 degrees Celsius (that’s right, like the rest of Northern Europe, our winter is never-ending!) we headed straight to the tropical biome to bask in the tropical warmth.

I’ve found it difficult to capture any sense of the place in just a few photos (and most of those I have are close-ups as focusing in on detail was the only way I managed to cope with so much to take in!), but here are some of my favourites. Enjoy!!

SAM_0687

SAM_0584

SAM_0582

SAM_0594

SAM_0559 SAM_0556 SAM_0553 SAM_0551 SAM_0543

SAM_0573 SAM_0572 SAM_0568

SAM_0613 SAM_0614 SAM_0621

SAM_0566

I can’t remember the names of any of these plants – except for the ginger (its the flower that looks a bit like a frilly protea).

If you ever get the chance, go and explore the Eden Project. Its awesome!!

Author: j3dley

I'm an amateur gardener and enjoy admiring the gardening efforts of others. I'm constantly on the lookout for inspiration and love sharing my discoveries!

6 thoughts on “overwhelmed in eden

  1. J3dley – You find the Most Interesting places to visit. I was blown away by all those dome thingies. They must cover acres and acres! Excellent photos. The second photo after your feet looks like a shrimp plant. I don’t have the yellow one; just the red.

    • Glad you enjoyed the Eden post. The domes were amazing. There were several more including one that featured an amazing mediterranean garden. You’re lucky to grow such exotic plants there. What a great name, it does look like a shrimp doesn’t it?!

  2. This does look like a remarkable place to visit. Your photos give a good sense of the scale of the place, particularly the first one in which the people look so tiny! The fourth and fifth photos after your feet seem to me to be some variety of pokeweed (Phytolacca) and morning glory (Ipomoea).

    • Thanks for identifying them- I’m always drawn to blue flowers as they’re so rare. Photos just don’t do the place justice… And one visit is not enough!! Glad you liked the post!!

  3. WOW! Absolutely AMAZING—Would so love to see that place in person someday. Thanks for sharing! You took some pretty incredible pics 😉

Leave a Reply

