theharmoniousgarden

all things come to those who wait

5 Comments

This weekend was wonderful. After weeks of rubbish weather, we were finally rewarded with a run of hot sultry days. And a whole whopping 28 degrees C!

But what really made me happy was my cactus flowering after 4 and a half years of prickly nothingness (I’ve previously featured this reluctant bloomer here and here). After following some helpful advice from another garden blogger who suggested I locate it in the warmest/driest place  possible – no easy feat in my shady central London garden –  it’s finally a vision of pink! Here she is in all her glory.

ImageImageImageImage

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Image

I’ve also featured a few other flowers currently in bloom in the garden. With all the erratic weather to date, the garden’s not a patch on what it usually is at this time of the year. Thankfully the flowers here are mostly bee friendly and are giving our nectar-loving friends something to eat. For more information on how to create your own bee-friendly habitat and garden, check out The Bee Cause. 

Author: j3dley

I'm an amateur gardener and enjoy admiring the gardening efforts of others. I'm constantly on the lookout for inspiration and love sharing my discoveries!

5 thoughts on “all things come to those who wait

  1. lovely cactus in bloom but what do you do with it when it is really rainy for a while ?

    • Tis the eternal question. To be fair, I don’t mind if it never flowers again 🙂

      • my cacti seldom give fowers as they spent Winter in my ivingroom and they need a cold-period to form buds.but I so whish I could put them outside in Summer….

      • Interesting what you say about cold being needed to form buds- it wintered outside but under the awning to protect from the rain. Maybe find a sunny place with shelter?!

      • Didn’t you know cacti needed to overwinter cold but frostfree in order to be able to bloom ? There are even winterhardy cacti who can survive our climate (but they are hard to find here), some even without cover from the rain or snow, others with cover from rain and snow

Leave a Reply

